Oops: When People Find Out I Blogged About Them

So you can just color me uncomfortable because as luck would have it, when you put a blog on the internet anyone can read it- including, and especially the people you might have written about. Particularly, if you always post about your blog on Facebook, and then your friends post about your blog on Facebook, which is really just solid marketing, until it turns out that your subject in question is just one Facebook friend removed from you.

See: The Compulsive Bike Stealer.

Last night I got a new comment on that post…..
I mean, he called me “pretty lady” so he doesn’t seem that mad about it…

Meanwhile, on Facebook:

That comment was from our subject.

Oops.

But really, at this point both his cousin and the Bike Stealer himself outed his identity for anyone on Facebook, so it’s hard to feel guilty about a little story told ’round the internet through Gallery Girls stills and Wayne’s World clips.

Now I just sit and wait for the day when this all catches up to me and I never get a date again because guys are afraid I will blog about them. But I won’t blog about you if you don’t do anything weird. I think we can all agree that’s fair? I mean c’mon you guys!!! He stole bikes!! What was I supposed to DO?!

Plus, for all the guys I have written about, there’s a handful more that are even weirder that you’ll never even read about.

Here.

I’m just giving it a few years until they all forget who I am and then I’ll probably write a book or something.

25 thoughts on “Oops: When People Find Out I Blogged About Them

  1. I thought that was why some people avoided dating anyone in comedy – if you end up marrying one, they’re going to at least write about you for someone else, if not tell jokes about you on stage. Since he brags about stealing bikes to women he barely knows, he should expect that word of his crimes will spread. He’s a fool and deserves to have been outed. I wonder if he’s tried Zumba….

    • I completely agree!! You didn’t mention any names, and had almost no description – there’s no WAY that anyone would have known except they told! πŸ™‚ (Though I’ll admit that I often think about what stories I’m going to tell because I think about who might click on it from facebook, hahaha)

  2. I wrote a blog about a magazine editor that got back to him. I didn’t realize how small the woodworking community can be at times. It wasn’t a personal attack, just a disagreement on some safety legislation that was coming up for vote, but I do admit I hammered him pretty good over his “logic” for discrediting the legislation. Needless to say he wasn’t too happy with me. Good news is that I didn’t care then and care even less now.

    • Hahahah exactly! If I *truly* cared about whether he saw this I wouldn’t have posted it in the first place… This certainly won’t stop me from blogging about people in the future…. I’m positively incorrigible!

  3. Oh boy–I learned the hard way to be very careful who and what you write about–even if they are dead. Long story…..now I am much more cautious. If I write about my husband, which I don’t do often, I always let him read before I publish, even though he says I don’t have to.

    • I recently read “I Don’t Care About Your Band” by Julie Klausner and it’s all about guys she’s dated…. so I was like eh, if she does it then it’s fine! I mean if you change their name how can they complain? It could be anyone you’re talking about. There must be plenty of bike stealers in the world… right?

  4. Well, well, well, I often wonder about this issue. The characters I write about are real. But I usually change their names, giving them the option to disclaim it if they do run across it. Maybe it should be like in The Help — you know, if you write something so “terrible awful” about someone that they would never admit that it’s them . . . or me.

    • Hahahah exactly! If it was so terrible awful he wouldn’t have 1. told me about stealing bikes upon knowing me for 45 minutes and 2. admitted it was him on facebook. I cannot be held accountable for wrong doing here.

Leave a Reply

