Happy 26th Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Mom and Dad on their honeymoon in Bermuda. Dad giving us some white shorts, 80’s realness.

This past Friday was my parents’ 26th wedding, and I had the pleasure of spending it with them, driving them around, like I do for Valentine’s Day (though this occasion was decidedly less depressing than going out with my parents for the holiday because the waitress didn’t ask if “a forth will be joining us”).

My parents’ meet-cute and subsequent courting period was straight out of a Meg Ryan/Tom Hanks movie, or at least as far as I can tell from the bullet points edition I heard:

  • They went to high school in Massachusetts together, but never met.
  • After living all over the country, 10 years later they ended up in NH both working at the same company. My mother was an editor and my dad was a…. computer…. a computer something, he did stuff with computers.
  • Their first meeting was at an all-lady lingerie party that my dad and his friend crashed (low stakes naughtiness)!
  • They started emailing back and forth for a month or so before they went on a date, and my mother still has the emails.
  • After they started dating, my father stopped by my mom’s cubicle and saw that she had the SAME BLACK AND WHITE “3 STOOGES” PICTURE THAT HE HAD IN HIS OFFICE.

It was love, my friends.

Mom giving us some big hat, 80’s realness. Look at that waist!

Though this is just an excuse to display my baking prowess, I made a S’more cake for my parents (with these recipes here and here, if you care).

So, here’s to the next 26 years, parentals. Thank you for heeding the warning that if either of you cheat, the offending party will not be invited to my future wedding. And to stay together for the kids even if the kids are 35. I know you’d be together anyway, but the threat still stands.

5 thoughts on “Happy 26th Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Leave a Reply

