Clean Room, Clean Mind

When I turned 23 exactly a month ago today (it seems like just yesterday… plus 29 days) I made a list called “24 by 24” where I have a list of (you guessed it) 24 things I’d like to accomplish before I’m 24. One of those things is to keep my room clean (which I immediately regret writing here because in about 3 days when my mom remembers I have a blog, she’ll read this and be on my butt every day about putting stuff away).

A few years ago I saw Janeane Garofalo (if you don’t know who that is just google it. I don’t know what I’m supposed to do with you if you can’t keep up with my 90’s pop culture references) perform as the monologist at the improvised show Asssscat at the Upright Citizens Brigade theatre in NYC. She did a 10 minute or so monologue on the spot based on a word from the audience, and she ended up talking about how messy her room was, and if she could just clean her room she’s sure everything else would fall into place (I’m paraphrasing. This happened 2 years ago, and I’m not a stenographer. If you’re reading this Janeane, please feel free to correct me if you don’t feel what I said is entirely accurate).

Anyway, I believe that’s kind of true. I always feel a lot better when my room is picked up, which it usually is not. My bed even works as a mood ring of sorts. If you want to know what mental state I’m in, just creep into my bedroom while I sleep (ewww that’s weird! Just kidding, I look like an angel when I sleep, so I don’t want to deprive you of seeing that. Come one, come all! Watch me sleep!) and look at my bed:

If the bed is made and tidy: I’m on top of the world right now. My mind is sharp. You might want to give me a math problem to do in the morning. Nothing above third grade level, please. A clean bed just predicts my mental state, it doesn’t work miracles.

If the covers are askew, but otherwise fine: This would be my base level. It’s rare that I’ll make the bed two days in a row, so I might have just come off a neat and tidy bed high. I’m probably capable enough to watch  Are you Smarter than a Fifth Grader? and shout answers at the screen with a 45% accuracy rate.

If I’m sleeping to the right of a pile of clothes or amongst various electronics: If I didn’t even have the ware-with-all to throw the clothes or my laptop on the floor, we’re dealing with one of two things: Sh*t just got real. I’m not a happy camper. Other possibility: I had myself a little wine time.

If I’m sleeping in my clothes: Not that strange, it’s probably nothing.

Last night I slept in a clean bed with some wayward sheets, but the room around it is looking pretty good, so that’s a bonus. An even bigger bonus is when my desk space is clean.  This is what it looks like right now:

Normally I hate it when people decorate with empty booze bottles, and I think even an empty of Dom is tap dancing on the state line of Tacky Town, but it matched my room’s color scheme and looks nice with the JCrew purse my friend Lindsey got me for graduation. If I can direct your eyes to the blurry bulletin board (I was having some fun with Instagram) you’ll notice my vision board! Why, yes, I am that girl.

Making my desk space tidy and colorful definitely helps with my productivity and creativity. I also did my best to feng shui my room, which is probably embarrassing, but I choose to think of it as impossibly charming.

I guess the key is to just put clothes away as you take them off (I’m introducing some ground breaking stuff here, people. Try to keep up). In general, I didn’t realize how much nicer it is to have clean floor space until I really experienced it. Who knew?

{Little Henry has a place to sleep while I blog now.}

2 thoughts on “Clean Room, Clean Mind

Leave a Reply

