Pumpkin Cupcakes with Oktoberfest Frosting

The title of this post is very misleading. A bait and switch if you will. I intended to make pumpkin cupcakes with Shipyard Pumpkinhead frosting last night so I could blog about what a triumph I am in the kitchen, but then realized I had none of the ingredients and it was too late for me to go to the grocery store (because I was in the middle of Desperate Housewives. I don’t even like DH anymore, but just about anything could keep me from going to the grocery store. I also didn’t end up finishing the episode).

Anyway, I ended up making squash and pumpkin pie spice cupcakes with Oktoberfest and pumpkin pie spice Swiss buttercream frosting. These were actually really good, so if you want to make it, put a can of squash in yellow cake mix. Then make Swiss buttercream and add Oktoberfest beer and food coloring. Done. You can take that recipe as your own and open up a cupcake shop or something.

Since the cupcakes didn’t work out as a recipe post, I just used them as my usual Sunday night last hurrah of sport eating until I “start Monday.” I think I’ve been starting Monday since I graduated college. It was 80 degrees Sunday so I went to the beach with my mom and dad and basically ate everything that I ate in this post.

I swear, though, I start today! What makes this Monday different from all other Monday’s? I start Oprah’s Lifeclass tonight, and please don’t underestimate how excited I am. Living my best life does not include eating 5 pieces of pizza over the course of a day!

Is anyone else doing the Lifeclass? You should so we can write in our gratitude journals and talk about it!

OP-RAH! OP-RAH! OP-RAH!

Leave a Reply

