Emmy Recap

I actually enjoyed the Emmy’s this year. I think Jane Lynch has some great timing.

My favorite line of the night:

“A lot of people are curious why I’m a lesbian,” Lynch said. “Ladies and gentlemen, the cast of Entourage.”

Apparently Kevin Dillon (Johnny Drama) thinks:

“It was funny, but I think it’s not fair at the same time. We all have good senses of humor but I think the men of ‘Entourage’ treat women well for the most part.”

Well, Kevin, I will grant you that the characters on Entourage aren’t passing out any Chris Brown style abuse, but I think Jane was referring to just the inherent douchiness that the characters – yours especially- possesses. The fact that Kevin is so oblivious to how gross the men on that show are, and that he can’t even take the joke and move on, just makes it funnier.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy

I’m happy Julie Bowen won for Modern Family because I consider her and her 12 year-old body to be the under dog of the category. Her costar Sofia Vergara gets all the attention for her role because of the talent that lies in her sweater. I think it’s a lot harder to play the boarder line shrew wife and maintain like-abilitity than play the hot wife with a cute accent. I hope Julie Bowen takes this time to congratulate herself with a sandwich.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy

I think of him as another underdog of Modern Family. I thought maybe Eric Stonestreet who plays Cameron would win, but I think Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy was a nice choice.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

I’ve seen this clip about 30 times and it never gets old. Amy Poehler is just a national treasure- regardless of her wearing a dress from what appears to be the American Apparel evening collection. Melissa McCarthy of Mike and Molly and Bridesmaids won- girl looked like she was going to faint, which makes sense because I didn’t think she’d win either. I’ve never seen her show, but I’ve loved her since Gilmore Girls and it’s nice to see a woman who’s been in the game that long finally get some recognition.

Outstanding Variety Show

This is the 9th year in a row that The Daily Show has won. I’m a little embarrassed for them at this point. Just take yourself out of the running- it can’t feel that good to win by the ninth time. I’d bet the novelty starts to wear off around win 6.

Drama

Now, I don’t actually care about all the drama categories, but….

COACH TAYLOR!!!!!

Fashion

Just as a disclaimer, I have no qualifications to be talking about fashion. Right now, it’s 11 am and I’m in sweat pants, if that puts it into perspective for you.

Gwyneth Paltrow got mixed reviews for this- on one show she was best dressed, and on another she was worst. I’m going to say she’s medium dressed. Wasn’t the best, but I still liked it, and I hope this is the step in the direction to bring back the 90’s midriff. Not that I need a bare midriff to be back in style, but once that’s back then it’s only a matter of time before teddy bear back packs and floral dresses with combat boots are popular again, too.

Oh, Nina Dobrev, I’ve never seen your vampire show but you will always be my favorite teen mom from Degrassi. You look stunning. You’ve come a long way from the teen soap operas and snow capped mountains of Canada. Now you’re in a vampire soap opera in sunny California.

I loved this Zac Posen dress on Martha Plimpton from Raising Hope. It’s nice to see a comedy lady that can find someone to dress her to look like she’s not a comedy lady.

I’m tired.

Leave a Reply

