Thoughts on Vlogging

First, may I just begin by saying I’m morbidly fascinated by this girl. Morbidly fascinated because I don’t actually enjoy watching her hauls or vlogs, but I just check in every once in a while to see if she still talks  so fast and in such a high register about wallpaper, mascara, and haterz. Just a note about her- as far as I understand, this girl is in high school and since her youtube channel went viral her parents allowed her and her older sister to move to LA alone to be….youtube stars? Like, what?! I think she’s “homeschooled,” (sooo homeschooling herself?) and I’d just love to know how that’s working out for her.

That was just a little morning treat for you, my real purpose of blogging about vlogging is because I’m debating about whether I should throw some vlogs up here. I am hesitant to do so because I generally make fun of people with vlogs. The ones I’ve seen are pretty self indulgent. I can’t think of anyone I know who isn’t famous that I want to watch talk for over 2 minutes. If you’re just telling me about your day, you could have just written it down and given me the option to just read every couple sentences and fill in the blank. This is my preferred method of speed reading. If you vlog for longer than 2 minutes, I am going to shut it off unless you are supplying me with some vital information like how to properly install a Bump-it.

I also think vlogging gives everyone a lot more room to make fun of you. If you write a bad blog people will give you a certain amount of slack and attribute it to some poor writing skills. If your vlog is stupid it’s a lot more likely that people are just going to attribute that to you being an annoy human being. I do not want this.

Now, if I put some vlogs up in hurr they would be under 2 minutes and actually supply you with some info. Like a tutorial on how to make a Skinnygirl Margarita Bethenny Frankel-style. However, this would also require me to, like, do something with myself before I filmed, and I’ve grown accustomed to wearing my pajamas all day #postgradlife.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Vlogging

  1. Do it! I don’t mind vlogs at all, even if they are annoying – like that girl you talked about a while ago, the one who went comb-crazy trying to tease her hair…

Leave a Reply

