Graduation

In a little over a month, I will be graduating college, and I am definitely stressing over this. Not because I’m having some quarterlife crisis or I don’t know if I’ll have a job when I graduate (I totally know that I will not have a job). I’m stressed because I know that graduating means my family will be going out to a dinner of my choosing. It also means I get a cake. My mom has been asking me where I want to go and where I want to get my cake/what kind. This is a major source of anxiety in my life.

I was thinking the lemon-rasberry cake from Flour Bakery in Boston (lemon pound cake brushed with lemon syrup, filled with lemon curd, crushed raspberries, and buttercream), but this is so non-traditional! It’s such a risky choice. Maybe they’ll let me try it first like I’m picking a wedding cake (sidenote: I’m sure that the most exciting part about getting married is getting to try cakes and foods you’re considering for the reception).

Flour Bakery

I’m at a loss as to what to pick for a post graduation dinner. Do I pick a place I’ve never been to before? What if I don’t like it? Then it’s a complete waste of a free and expensive dinner, and it’s all my fault.

Does anybody have any suggestions for cakes or restaurants in Boston? Does anyone else get this worked up over food?

2 thoughts on “Graduation

  1. What did you end up with? I met Joanne Chang of Flour and she gave me her famous sticky/cinnamon buns… if those are any indication, I’m sure her cakes are awesome! I’d go for a place you know you’ll love if it’s a free expensive meal (this input obviously comes too late to actually be of use to you, but I had an opinion so I thought I’d chime in)

Leave a Reply

