Thinking Cup: Boston

I have to commute into Boston every week, and since I can’t go home between classes/rehearsals, whatever, I have no where to go during down time. I end up looking like a homeless person in February, aimlessly wandering about the mall or camping out in the corner of a coffee shop all day.

I’m getting pretty sick of Starbucks, so I tried out a new place called Thinking Cup in downtown Boston that opened up a few months ago. I’m guessing the employees there think I was studying for some sort of really important test because I was there twice in one day for an extended period of time.

They would be wrong about the test, though. I mean, I’m an acting major….so….

I was just there all day because it’s a great place to hang out! For one, their iced coffee is amazing. I got one before class, and then after a discussion with a classmate, I was told to try the hazelnut latte.

I went back after class and got the hazelnut latte and a chicken, brie, and apple on cranberry bread sandwich. Okay, first of all, they do those little latte drawings, which now that I’ve experienced beverage art, I feel that drinking a latte without it borders on barbaric. Not only was it pretty, it was unreal deee-ricious, and I’m pretty sure it had little pieces of hazelnut in it. Sandwich? Double dericious. They also had an assortment of mini cupcakes. I would have partook, but I felt like a cupcake on top of a sandwich full of brie and cranberry mayo would just start a shame spiral.

The atmosphere was really nice when I came in the morning, not overwhelmingly busy, and the little booths looked like a nice place to do your homework. When I came back at 2pm, though, it was a zoo. If the zoo had a hipsters and young professionals exhibit. At that point, it’s kind of uncool to do your homework there hours after you’ve finished your $2 coffee because you’re taking the seats away from people who actually just want to eat and go. Sure, today I was that person hogging yo’ seats, but at least I felt sort of bad about it. Plus, I had no where else to goooo (because I’m really sick of caramel macchiatos so Starbucks wasn’t an option, y’all)!

Anyway, I’m a big fan of Thinking Cup and highly recommend it, if not just for the teeny tiny little spoon they put on the saucer with your hazelnut latte.

4 thoughts on “Thinking Cup: Boston

  1. sooo did you know that the couple who runs the Thinking Cup currently lives with me – in your old bedroom at 39 Charles? Haha! i’ll tell them you liked it!

  2. Well, I finally got to go to the Thinking Cup after reading about it on brunchforeverymeal, and I must say it was everything and more. I got the turkey sandwich on the cranberry bread, with brie and apple (to die for) and I splurged on a mini chocolate peanutbutter cupcake (also, to die for). The service was great, the food was great, the atmosphere was great… Just a wonderful place to pop in for a healthy but delicious quick lunch…Thanks Brunchforeverymeal for your “great” suggestion, can’t wait to be in Boston again so I can visit the Thinking Cup again. In case you don’t know the address it’s 165 Tremont St.

  3. Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

